20 February 2012

Call for Entries: The Polari First Book Prize 2012 (UK)

Post date: 20 February 2012
The Polari First Book Prize is named after ‘London’s peerless gay literary salon’ Polari, founded in 2007.

The Prize is for a first book which explores the queer experience and is open to any work of poetry, prose, fiction or non-fiction by a writer born or resident in the UK, published in English within the past twelve months.

Self-published works in both print and digital formats are eligible for submission.

Works must be submitted to The Polari First Book Prize by the publisher.

In the case of self-published works, works must be submitted with a one-page/A4 size letter of support describing why and how the project has been self-published.

The winner of the 2011 Polari First Book Prize was James Maker, for his memoir 'Autofellatio' (BIGFib), which began life as an e-book.

This year’s Prize is for books published between Feb 1, 2011 and Feb 1, 2012.

Submissions will be accepted after that date, provided books meet the criteria.

The long list (up to 12 titles) will be announced at the 2012 London Literature Festival at the Southbank Centre in July.

The short list (up to 5 titles) will be announced at the end of September.

The winner will be announced in November at Polari's 5th birthday.

This year's judges are;
  • Paul Burston, author, journalist, host of Polari and founder of the Prize;
  • Rachel Holmes, Head of Literature and Spoken Word at the Southbank Centre;
  • Suzi Feay, literary critic, broadcaster and associate editor at The Financial Times;
  • Joe Storey-Scott, books buyer at Prowler and;
  • Bidisha - Guardian journalist and broadcaster

For more info on submissions, email paulburston@btinternet.com, with ‘Polari First Book Prize’ in the subject field.


For inquiries: paulburston@btinternet.com

For submissions: paulburston@btinternet.com

Website: http://www.paulburston.com
This blog is no longer updated. Please instead visit Writers For Diversity for new opportunities for women/ LGBT writers and writers of color. Thank you.